Now that Christmas is behind us, I am thinking of past holiday seasons that really stick out.

This year, I wrote a book called "Twas The Night Before Krampus And Other Holiday Horror Stories," which I think we can all relate to in a way. It seems that there are family horror stories from Thanksgiving to Christmas to Easter and others that we can all relate. Maybe the stress of planning the perfect meal, only to have a relative complain about it, or a big family argument over nothing important.

When my mom remarried, I remember many family arguments in the mornings. It seemed that my dad was complaining about one thing after another. Maybe I have things a bit fuzzy on this, and I am not certain why there were all the problems. Christmas was the most exciting time for kids, so why would a person do that?

Christmas Eve was always the special night for us, as it still is. It is when we open gifts in my family. We have always been more Old World when it comes to the holidays, as my grandmother was from France. I loved when the night came and the gifts were there for us to open up.

One of the best, if not the best Christmas, was I believe my second grade year (maybe it was first grade). I remember it was before my father came into the picture, and my grandfather was still in the hospital. My grandfather was not always a very agreeable person, so having him absent was a plus. It was only my grandma, mom, brother and myself. I remember getting many Star Wars figures and a Hoth Playset. I believe that there was snow on the ground which made it complete. I am sure that we had visited my great-grandmother in the nursing home earlier, as we did most days. She was a lovely old French woman who spoke almost no English. The memories may be fuzzy, but I get a warm feeling when I think of that night.

Christmas Eve on the farm I grew up was always interesting, and I miss it. There was one year where my mom, brother and myself lived in town, and that was also a pleasant Christmas, but the ones on the farm stay with me. My Sophmore year in high school, we had moved to the city, and we still had fun holidays, but some of the excitement of childhood was gone. I moved to my grandmother's after she died, and have many fond memories of Christmas there, as well as Florida now, but the ones of your childhood are the ones you look back with I think the most fondness.
3/1/2013 08:07:53 am

Isn't that the truth! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it really made my day! I came across your blog as I was searching for information on the McDonald's cinnamon danish. I read a little blurb where you mentioned going before school and then some memories of Burger Chef. I had to check to see if you lived near me-same state-but I lived in South Bend. That really brought back alot of good memories. For the record, I don't think anything will ever top the Cinnamon Danish or the Big Chef...I miss them both!

Reply
Kevin
3/6/2013 09:12:22 am

Thanks, I appreciate that, they were great memories.

Reply



Leave a Reply.