Growing up as a child, I used to go to the local library in Avilla, Indiana, and constantly check out a book on The Universe. It was a fascinating read about the planets, and even got into the concept of Space Stations. My family got a copy of the book for me this year, and I was again excited about the ideas of space exploration. I even live along the Space Coast now.

Growing up as kids, we dreamed of being an astronaut and of space travel. I had read that by this time, we would be living in space in space stations. The ideas that we saw in books were fascinating, very large places where you would not only live, but also grow food, and the like. It appeared our dreams could be a reality. We used to watch the Space Shuttles go off into space and again, we were captivated.

President Bush had even put a program in place to explore Mars. This was super exciting to us who had grown up with such dreams. Then, the Space Shuttle program was scrapped, the Mars Mission was scrapped, and most of the space program seemed to be of no interest or importance to those in government.

NASA was a wonderful organization, but now I heard that it was around to clean up space debris. We are borrowing rides into space off of the Russians. For those of us that dreamed of space, this makes us sick to our stomachs.

I truly hope that things change and that those who claim to embrace science will again embrace space. We need to be on the forefront, like we were under Kennedy.



Leave a Reply.