I watched a special on former NBA star and legendary Smooth Jazz Guitarist Waymon Tisdale tonight. It brought back special memories of my past, and the love I used to have for a game since lost.

I remember the first game I ever went to, it was close to my brother's birthday in December of 1986. I was in eighth grade at Blackhawk Christian School. My late dad picked up me, my brother, and our late friend Greg Hindle, who was coming over that night to spend the night with my brother, as we had a skating birthday party for him the next day.

We had no idea until dad showed us the tickets, and then we were off the Market Square Arena to watch the Pacers play the Atlanta Hawks. There was what appeared to us, a real energy to the crowd. The Pacers were led by Waymon Tisdale and Chuck Person, who would be voted Rookie of the Year. The game was full of excitement from the tip off to the end. I remember that the fans were extremely upset by a bad call, and they threw all kinds of stuff on the floor. I have never seen anything like that happen since, in all of the games I went to. The announcer threatened over the loudspeaker to eject those doing so from the arena. I don't remember for sure who won, but remember walking to the floor after the game, to stand on an actualy NBA hardcourt, which was exciting.

We went to many games over the years, many with my family, my mom or dad, and with friends such as Brad Phillips. My brother ended up going to even more than I did, even taking dates, if I remember right.

There was such excitement over the NBA for us then. There were so many exciting teams and players. The games were often high scoring and high flying. I went to the game during Kareem Abdul-Jabbar's retirement season, which was fun. I saw so many fun team and players, and thinking of them brings a big smile on my face.

Market Square Arena was later torn down and Indianapolis now has, what I believe to be the finest arena in pro basketball. I went to a few games and Conseco Fieldhouse, but walking around the stadium and looking at everything was more interesting than the games. I also went to games in Miami and Denver (I believe my last game), but it was never the same. The scores are lower and the games were never as exciting as in the early days of my going.

I remember the team trading Waymon and feeling let down, thinking it was a bad deal. I had his practice jersey that I used to wear to play ball.

Years later, I remember seeing him play music, playing bass in the world of smooth jazz, which I loved. It was exciting to see an NBA player not doing rap music or the like. Here was a man who didn't sing or rap, but played an amazing guitar.

I loved getting to hear his music, and although he is no longer with us, his music lives on. Waymon Tisdale, you are missed, not only for your game and music, but for the smile. The game is not the same as when you played.



Leave a Reply.