As I think over the past few years, there are many things that I wish that I could do different. I wish that I could go back in time and just talk some sense into myself. If that were the case, I would probably be a successful lawyer, or at least a competent one. I would be married, and hopefully happily so, and possibly be a father. That being said, it didn't happen that way, and we can't live in the past. We have to move forward.

For the past couple of years, I have been working to follow my dream. I have released a number of books, and co-produced a sizzle reel for a television show. With my former student and now close friend Eric Vernor, a production company is being started. We are trying to get a television show made, and are hoping to soon shop around some movie projects. The company is also producing the CD for a very talented singer who I believe we will hear about for years, not only as a recording artist, but I believe writer and actress.

To do such things takes sacrifice, but at times you ask yourself if the sacrifice is worth it. 

The reality is as human beings, we seek love, it seems ingrained in our DNA. I don't know of anyone who wishes to be alone. I myself have yearned for that great love. When it finally comes I believe it can be wonderful. 

I have seen most of my friends build lives for themselves, besides their careers, they build families. They become husbands or wives, mothers and fathers, and I see how rewarding it is to them.

Some of us have taken a longer path to get there though, and watching others can be difficult. You wonder to yourself when it will be your turn. Everyone tells you that you will make a wonderful husband and a wonderful father, and deep down, it is something you wish for, long for. 

To be that person though, I am continuing to try and improve as a man, and work to overcome my shortcomings, so that I can be everything that she will want and need.

While filming, I spoke with a friend who wants the same things. It is deeply important to him, but he feels like it will never happen. I know that is wrong, as he will find that special someone. I feel it, and I am pretty good with my feelings coming to pass for others. 

The dream is to have a place in the country, a house surrounded by trees, with a babbling brook running along. We would entertain our friends often, sharing stories over dinner parties. Nights we will snuggle under a blanket watching our favorite scary movies.

The most important thing though is love and support between us. I will always encourage her in whatever she does, and she in turn would do the same. I think that is how love should work. And I would always do what I could to keep things interesting, as I don't want anyone to get bored with me.

To me, it sounds wonderful.



Leave a Reply.