I find it sad that when a relationship ends, people can't try to be friends. Don't get me wrong, I think it is strange is you are best friends with your ex-husband or ex-wife, but I don't see why you can't be friends with an ex-girlfriend or such. I have tried to maintain these friendships with very little avail.

Recently, I had the chance to spend time with a lady from my past. I was hoping to maintain a friendship with her, but I don't know if that will happen. She called one day to tell me that she has a boyfriend now and that she doesn't want to hang out because of that. The strange thing is that she probably only had gone out with him a couple of times. She said that he was coming back from Afghanistan, and knowing what was going on in her life for the past few months, I know there would not have been time for more than two or three dates. How that turns a person into a boyfriend, I have no idea. I guess that sometimes people can be too eager to be in a relationship. I am worried that if things go that fast, she will be engaged in a couple of months, married by the end of the year, and then I will get a call in a year or two telling me that she made a mistake and now it is too late to get out.

I guess all of this hasn't made too much sense to me, when we said when we started going out that we would always be friends.

I'm not going to pretend that I have always been a perfect boyfriend, but I have always been a great friend. People have been able to count on me when they needed someone to talk to.

I also don't understand that when people start dating, they think they can't have opposite sex friends. I know it isn't like that everywhere, but in Indiana, it seems to be the norm. People become possessive and feel that they can't trust the other. I think that is kind of sad, if there is not trust, there is no relationship.

I am grateful for my female friends. They teach me more about myself. I wish that more people would feel that way. If my girlfriends wouldn't allow me to have them, then I couldn't continue dating.

Regardless, the older I get, the more frustrated I get. I can't stand how many ladies in the Midwest set their value by having a boyfriend. They don't see the value in themselves, and I find it discourating. As a teacher, I have seen so much of that.

Maybe one day in my life, I will be fortunate enough to marry, but to marry a strong independent woman who sees the value in herself.




Leave a Reply.